Toggle

“I couldn’t be happier with my care from TCO & the Excel program” — Michael S.

Dear Justina,

I am a big fan of TCO/EXCEL! I couldn’t be happier with my care from TCO & the Excel program.

The decision to move ahead with a knee replacement wasn’t easy for me. I had knee surgery years ago and it wasn’t a great experience. You all took the time to listen and to make me feel valued and respected, treating me as you would want to be treated. Kudo’s to all.

Dr. John Anderson showed great care and concern and his put me at ease. I was always confident that I had selected a great Doctor. Thomas Gendron, Dr. Anderson’s Surgical Assistant, was a great help thru post­op and always available for calls. Sue Vaness, Care Coordinator kept all the moving parts on track for me and made it as easy as can be.

I remember Erin & Kathy 2 great nurses in the recovery room with chapstick necklaces. I’m sorry for pulling out my intravenous line; I thought I was being stung by a bee.

And certainly the folks over at EXCEL, Marni G, Joint Coordinator and the fabulous nurses Donica, Alicia, Ashley E., Mimi & Jennifer and of course Laura my first Physical Therapist who got me started on the right track. You guys cheerfully took great care of me!

My recovery has been fantastic. I started PT right away, stretching and strengthening my leg.

At 5 weeks I was back at Yoga class 4 days a week and at the gym working the legs.

At about 4 month’s things started to feel almost normal.

At about 5 months, May/ June and was back on my bicycle doing 20 mile rides a few times a week

At about 9 months it seemed the strength in my right leg was about 75% back as was the flexibility. And now at 18 months Post Op I feel great and strong and flexible. Last month I went hiking in the Colorado Rockies.

I don’t really notice that I have a knee replacement.

When I went in for my pre-op consult with Dr. Anderson he explained the procedure and he told me that I would probably never be able to do a “Catchers Squat” (like a Baseball Catcher) again. In Yoga it’s called Malasana. At my 4 month checkup I showed him a “good” Malasana, Now at 18 months I have a great Malasana, better than Pre Op.

I’m very grateful for all your great care.

Michael S.

Read More

“I felt as though I was number 1 on the list with the work that went into my case” — Charlie W.

My first experience with Dr. Saterbak was in 1999 for the repair of my left ACL. We crossed paths again in 2005 for a right ACL. In the meantime, the progression of osteoarthritis was being monitored in my left knee. I had gone through medications and variable injection treatments. I felt I had come to the end of the road in the fall of 2016 with the amount of pain persisting in my left knee. At that time, a visit to Dr. Saterbak resulted in an appointment to thoroughly investigate the possibility of a total knee replacement. All evidence pointed to that procedure and it was then scheduled for March 2017.

The whole procedure was to be performed as part of TCO’s EXCEL Program. The intro to final PT program that covered all aspects of the replacement and lifted concerns of outcomes.

Blue Cross Blue Shield had no issues with the funding. That was huge! Additionally, I felt as though I was number 1 on the list with the work that went into my case – the pre-op, surgery, post-op, follow-ups and PT.

Count me as a satisfied consumer of the program.

Charlie W.

Read More

“I thought the TCO EXCEL Program was great.” — Martin P.

I thought the TCO EXCEL Program was great. This was my first surgery requiring an overnight stay and having such a comprehensive, well-explained process was really appreciated. Dr. Hunt gave a good high-level explanation of how it all worked and it exceeded my expectations. Once surgery was scheduled, everything went smoothly, was well explained, super simple billing process and Dr. Hunt and all my caregiving staff were friendly, professional and had me back on track for walking farther than I thought possible.

Read More

“Knowing the cost in a bundle makes it so much easier on the patient.” — Terrie S.

My knee replacement by Dr. Chris Meyer in the TCO EXCEL Program was excellent! The all-inclusive program from the beginning to the end through physical therapy was comprehensive and beyond my expectations. No hassle billing was so nice – it was the way it should be. Knowing the cost in a bundle makes it so much easier on the patient.

Read More

“Highly suggest both Dr. Mair and the TCO EXCEL Program.” — Neva M.

My right hip replacement performed by Dr. Mair was perfect. Everybody was great at Two Twelve Surgery Center. My pain was minimal due to how they managed it with their schedule. I was walking the evening of my surgery. I followed my directions from physical therapists and doctors, it’s like my hip was never replaced. Highly suggest both Dr. Mair and the TCO EXCEL Program.

Read More

“My whole experience with the EXCEL Program at TCO was great.” — John P.

I would love the chance to see Dr. Steven Meisterling again and thank him for giving me my life back! The first time I went to see him in St. Croix Falls, I could barely walk into the clinic because my knee hurt so bad and it was affecting my hip too so that was sore. He showed me the x-rays of my knee and how little cartilage I had left. I was advised to first try wearing a neoprene brace on my knee which made an amazing difference for a while.

By the time of my operation, I was very bow-legged and limping very badly. All of the staff that I had dealt with were extremely helpful. I felt very comfortable going into the operation; the pre-op nurse and anesthesiologist were very comforting. My recovery was smooth with no problems and the staff checked in on me frequently. I loved my physical therapist, Dan Stark, during my recovery process as well – he was very helpful and such a nice guy.

My whole experience with the EXCEL Program at TCO was great. I would definitely recommend TCO to anyone and will not hesitate to go back if I ever need any similar procedures.

Read More

“The EXCEL Program was just the program I needed for surgery.” — Jim P.

I had a fantastic experience. I referred a friend already to Dr. O’Neill for a hip replacement. I continue to work with TCO through Steve my trainer and use TCO for my orthopedic needs. The EXCEL Program was just the program I needed for surgery.

Read More

“I am always quick to call out your names to refer people.” — John M.

I had been seeing Dr. Asp for a good amount of time (15+ years) in which I was receiving injections. As mentioned, this went on for quite a long period of time. I did the injections as I was not mentally ready/prepared for the replacement. Finally, in the beginning of 2017, I had made the decision to begin the total knee replacement because I really couldn’t stand the constant pain. I scheduled my first replacement on my right knee (the worst of the two) and became totally ready.

March came, I was anxious for the pain to be removed and ready for strenuous rehab and therapy to get up and about. I hit a snag in the therapy when I couldn’t get beyond the 80 degree bend due to a build-up of scar tissue. So a manipulation procedure was suggested and performed by Dr. Asp. Days later, I was pedaling full motion on the bike and my bend had increased to 105 degrees with continued physical therapy (Courtney was amazing). My bend was nearing 120 degrees and my straightening was near 0 degrees.

With all this happening, I knew I could go through another surgery to have my left knee repaired and through the skillful hands of Dr. Asp and his team (and the grace of god) I am happy to say that I am totally pain free and walking without any limitations and much to the delight of my wife, Lisa. Thank you Dr. Asp and the entire team at TCO. I am always quick to call out your names to refer people.

Thank you and best regards,

John M.

Read More

“I was blown away by the overall process and how quickly I was back in action.” — Jason G.

I was blown away by the overall process and how quickly I was back in action. I am young and in relatively good shape and I was coached by a number of people about how key rehab is. It was crazy to think that in a few short hours, I was on my feet walking the hallways. The rooms and care I received from Dr. Kruse and staff in my short stay were fantastic. Again, I was really blown away with the surgery process, recovery center quality and overall recovery from a major surgery.

Read More

“I couldn’t believe that I was walking the same day.” — Jay R.

My experience with Twin Cities Orthopedics and the EXCEL Program was very good. Dr. Panek is great. My hip replacement surgery went well. I couldn’t believe that I was walking the same day. It is amazing how much the new hip has improved my life. I’ve resumed sailboat racing and despite the pressure that it puts on my leg and hip, I have no pain. I ride my bike, walk miles on trips, ice skate, and participate in other activities. My leg feels so good that I often forget that I have an artificial hip. Sometimes when I go through airport or sporting event screenings, I forget to tell them and set off the alarm.

Read More

“While participating in the EXCEL Program and with the expertise of Dr. Panek and his team, I have made a successful recovery from knee replacement surgery.” — Claire M.

I had been living with knee pain for years and had visited several Orthopedic Physicians. Once I met Dr. Panek and his team, I immediately felt comfortable that they would handle my issues. Had a knee replacement in June 2018 and I can truly say “why did I wait so long?’ Due to the skill of Dr. Panek, I now feel better than I have in years!
While participating in the EXCEL program and with the expertise of Dr. Panek and his team, I have made a successful recovery from knee replacement surgery. I am back to kayaking, bike riding, walking digging in my garden, re-arranging (large) rocks in my garden and living life to the fullest!

Read More

“The recovery was swift and the care was excellent.” — Cheryl W.

Almost ten years ago Dr. O’Neill replaced my right knee. It had been damaged in an auto accident several years earlier and caused me considerable pain and an awkward gait. I was and I am still very happy with that new knee. No pain and no limp! When my left knee needed to be replaced I did not hesitate to see Dr. O’Neill. I had the surgery in January and participated in the EXCEL Program. The recovery was swift and the care was excellent. I appreciated the personable and professional and care I received, not only from Dr. O’Neill, but also from his office and clinical staff. They provided great information, listened to my questions, addressed my concerns and seemed happy to do it. Now that spring is finally here, I am delighted to be out walking the neighborhood!

Read More

“Everyone goes above and beyond to answer questions from insurance to logistics and everything in between.” — Arthur S.

I had my right hip replaced just over 3 years ago before moving to MN using the posterior approach. My doctor was great (a friend of the family) and my surgery was successful. I walked away completely satisfied and knowing I had received the “white glove” treatment. So when my left hip started acting up, I strongly suspected we were heading down the same path.

Dr. O’Neill and team confirmed that my cartilage had left the building and I prepared for the ordeal all over again. Going on disability and 6 – 8 weeks of down time needing assistance etc. Then Dr. O’Neill carefully explained that a new anterior approach procedure is performed by the team and with results that left me doubting what I was hearing in spite of the logic behind it. Back to work in a couple of weeks (no disability), being able to start swimming and other activities (especially walking) almost immediately, and likely no physical therapy needed. Then I was told about the EXCEL Program and how this group has put together a team and a plan that covers every possible detail of the prep, surgery, and post-op care. I knew that I was in good hands because every concern that I had based on the first hip being done was clearly being addressed. Most of all, my previous Doctor said just be sure the new procedure is being done by someone who has a good deal of experience with it. Dr. O’Neill fits that having successfully performed the procedure many times after spending a great deal of time researching and training. His expertise is on display daily.

I am 4 months and some change out from surgery and I need to say that the difference in recovery this time is amazing. There are fewer restrictions in general. I was walking the day of and have not stopped since. Back in the pool as soon as the wound had healed and swimming easily. I began working from home ten days post-op which really was amazing compared to the earlier procedure (6 weeks before working from home). I had no need for pain medication after the third day post-op stronger than Celebrex (as a person in recovery, this was almost more of a concern than the procedure). I was given the ok to drive as soon as I stopped pain medication but waited 2 weeks to ease the concern of family. Everything I had been told prior to surgery was spot on and or even better than described.

I need to say a few words about the team at TCO. They not only are caring and supportive throughout the process but anticipate just about every question, concern and need in advance. Everyone goes above and beyond to answer questions from insurance to logistics and everything in between. The day of surgery team was caring, professional and on top of things. The overnight nursing care is nothing short of extraordinary and the next day/discharge team left nothing unanswered. The folks at follow up visits from the front desk to the team assisting Dr. O’Neill are fantastic. If you are considering options for a hip replacement, I cannot encourage you enough to look into this team and the work that they are doing. I am so grateful to have been a patient.

Read More

“Both procedures and my experiences with them, to include the EXCEL Program and High Point Surgery Center, were nothing but positive.” — Kyle K.

January of 2014 I had my left hip replaced by Dr. Comfort. April of 2018 I had my right hip done, again by Dr. Comfort. My recent surgery included participation in the EXCEL Program and was carried out at the High Point Surgery Center. Both procedures and my experiences with them, to include the EXCEL Program and High Point Surgery Center, were nothing but positive. I am 6 weeks out of my recent procedure and recovering well, to the extent that I am back to work and suffering only minimal muscle soreness. I would very much like to thank Dr. Comfort, Molly his assistant, and Dave for the great care they gave me through the process. Their care and talents have given me back the ability to enjoy a pain free lifestyle. Overall, I would highly recommend Dr. Comfort and his staff. Thank you Dr. Comfort and Twin Cities Orthopedic for the quality care given.

Read More

“The limiting factor for all of us was the altitude, not my hip!” — Tannie S.

I liked the EXCEL program and felt the care that I received from Dr. Arthur and staff at Interlude, Plymouth was excellent. My goal was to go on a previously planned trip to Peru about 3 1/2 months post-op with my husband and sons, ages 22 and 25. I was able to do everything I had hoped to in Peru; including a 5 mile round-trip hike through a muddy, rutted ravine to and from Lake Sandoval in the Amazon rainforest, and hiking and climbing around Machu Picchu, where the limiting factor for all of us was the altitude, not my hip!

Read More

“Outstanding examples of innovative health care at its best.” — Kolean P.

Dr. Michael Nemanich (Twin Cities Orthopedics) saved the quality of my life! Prior to my anterior hip replacement surgery, I had debilitating pain that significantly limited my physical activities and had a negative effect on my mental health. I am truly grateful for his excellent skills as a surgeon and a caring medical professional. I now have NO pain in my hip joint and am swimming, taking Pilates classes and walking regularly. I even completed a seven-mile hike in Banff National Park seven weeks after my surgery!

I had a very positive experience being a patient in TCO’s comprehensive total joint program. From the free pre-op education (Hip Replacement Camp) to the surgery to the post-op recovery process. Plus, TCO’s one simplified invoice made for a clearly understandable and stress-free billing process.

Dr. Nemanich and TCO’s EXCEL Joint Replacement Program are outstanding examples of innovative health care at its best.

Read More

“I have only good things to say about the EXCEL program…” — Andy B.

I have only good things to say about the EXCEL program and my knee replacement done by Dr. Saterbak. The program is brilliant. I had a setback after a couple months but all was covered. Thank you!

Read More

“I am amazed at the outcome. I feel like I am 20 years younger…” — Michele B.

I have been working with Dr. Knowlan for many years due to my degenerative arthritis in both of my knees. When the pain and the loss of function became intolerable, we decided it was time for the replacements. His knowledge, experience, and communication were essential in determining which knee to do first, and how soon after to do the second knee. I call it my medical miracle. I am amazed at the outcome. I feel like I am 20 years younger, because the limited function and pain made me feel 10 years older than I actually am. Sometimes I forget how painful and difficult it was to use my knees. Yet, every now and then I realize that I’m walking up stairs without pain, and I smile! I even have to remind myself that I don’t have to use the hand railing. I can stand, walk, and play golf without pain. I can shop without pain. At the end of a long day at work, I walk out to my car and realize how much energy I still have. It has been a life changer for me. I am grateful every day for my knee replacements. Dr. Knowlan is my hero! That may sound a little over the top, but my life is so much better now.

Read More

“Best knee replacement so far!” — Luella B.

Best knee replacement so far! I’d definitely do it again if I had another knee to replace. Dr. Brian O’Neill replaced both knees and both knees are doing great!

Read More

“Overall a great experience. So very happy to be moving again.” — Rita H.

I have my right knee replaced April 5, 2017 and my left knee replaced October 17, 2017, both by Dr. Bjerke. The staff all took great care of me. I have had wonderful results. The best thing is that I can walk pain free. This winter I have been ice skating and cross country skiing. Overall a great experience. So very happy to be moving again. The only advice I have for anyone thinking about having this done is: BE PATIENT. It may take 2-3 months before you start feeling that it was worth it! But it is the most wonderful thing ever!

Read More

“I had a very positive experience.” — Matt B.

I had both knees replaced by Dr. Kelly at TCO as part of the EXCEL Program and had a very positive experience. Everyone I had dealings with through the process was friendly, knowledgeable and competent.

Read More

“Thank you TCO for a life changing experience.” — Cheryl B.

Met Dr. O’Neill many years ago and he has provided care on both knees from start to finish. Dr O’Neill, Bethany and Jen have been an amazing staff to work with. My life has changed with 2 brand new knees! The physical therapy department, Kyle and Eric were a team that helped me regain my strength and worked with me to get through exercises that were not always pleasant, but necessary to get me back on the road to recovery! I never hesitate to refer students, friends and family to TCO for orthopedic injuries. For any friends with knee issues, I guide them to Dr. Brian O’Neill as the go to doctor! Thank you TCO for a life changing experience.

Read More

“I felt my best option was the EXCEL program at TCO with Dr. Kruse.” — Paul A.

40 years ago I had a major knee injury. Basically, I had to live with it and make the best of the situation until (as several orthopedists told me) I knew it was time to do a knee replacement. Last year that time came, and I researched my options regarding locations and orthopedists to perform this procedure. I felt my best option was the EXCEL program at TCO with Dr. Kruse. The EXCEL program is well designed for a person that is motivated to do the work necessary to regain their quality of life. In EXCEL, TCO is there in every step along the way to support you. It’s not easy… it’s hard work… but you always have the TCO staff, as well as the structure of the EXCEL program, to guide you through the journey. Dr. Kruse was great to work with. He was very honest and open about what he could do, and what I needed to do, to make this a success. He has been very supportive and caring through the entire experience. One thing I really liked about EXCEL was the fact that everything I did was “in-house” through TCO and I didn’t need to go anywhere else. Another benefit of this structure was I made one payment to TCO and didn’t have to deal with a mountain of invoices from many different providers.

Read More

“I was very fortunate to be in the TCO EXCEL Program…” — Janet M.

Less than seven weeks ago I had a total knee replacement. I had full confidence in Dr. Steven Meisterling, and the result has been outstanding. The X-rays and the incision are perfect, pain is managed and I received overall great care. I was fortunate to be in the TCO EXCEL Program, recommended by Dr. Meisterling, and high praise for the medical and PT care I have received. Thank you, Dr. Meisterling and team!

Read More

“My quality of life has improved so much.” — Jan A.

Hello Mr. Simonson — I just wanted to pass along some positive feedback on my experiences with TCO and the Excel Program.

I had total knee replacement surgery on my left knee in July 2017 and my right knee in November 2017 through the Excel Program and with Dr. Kruse.  I had never had any surgeries until these so I was very nervous about doing it.  But after my first appointment with Dr. Kruse, I was confident I was in good hands and now that it’s all done, I was right!

All of the people I came in contact with from TCO were wonderful.  They always made me feel cared for and treated me like I was their only patient.  Dr. Kruse was so great and made me feel at ease every step of the way.  Everyone at the Minnesota Orthopedic Surgery Center in Fridley as well as the Coon Rapids location where I had all my pre and post appointments and physical therapy were also great.  My recovery time at Bel Rae was very comfortable and the nurses and therapists that worked with me there were amazing as well.

I want to give special mention about the therapists that spent so much time with me, Amy Lindell and Jason Bezdichek.  They are both so skilled at their jobs and were fantastic “coaches” by encouraging me and guiding me through the therapy.  When I would tell them what I was struggling with or pain I was having, they were so caring and tailored the exercises they had me doing and when I followed what they said, it always helped.  I was so lucky to be assigned to them!  I’d appreciate you passing this along to whoever their direct boss is.

Finally and most importantly, since having the surgeries, my quality of life has improved so much.  Being able to simply walk without knee pain has been awesome!  I’ve started using stairs instead of avoiding them and simple household chores have also become so much easier.  And, I’ve already been able to start doing my main hobbies pain free and have enjoyed them so much more (horseback riding and archery).

I’ve already recommended TCO to others and will continue to do so.  Again, a huge thank you to everyone at TCO!

Best regards,

Jan A.

Read More

“It was wonderful to receive one bill…” — Nancy L.

Dr. Gulli just performed my second total knee replacement which was a huge success, as my first surgery.  Dr. Gulli and his entire team have always been extremely professional and always available to answer any questions I may have. I participated in the EXCEL Program, allowing me to know before surgery what my total financial obligation was. Also it was wonderful to receive one bill for all of the costs. I was transported to Interlude and was extremely happy with the care of the RN and PT while staying there a very short time. I would highly recommend Dr. Gulli and his team.

Read More

“Remarkable! Great care from a great team!” — Jody K.

Excellent experience! I was home in one day and I never required use of a walker or cane. Went back to hot yoga five times per week after my six week check up. Pain free! I hiked in Europe (Corsica and Sardinia) less than six months after replacement. It was a 15 day trip with 4-7 hours of hiking per day.  Remarkable! Great care from a great team!

*Jody was a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program and had a hip replacement with Dr. Anseth

Read More

“Would recommend to anyone…” — Matt B.

I had an incredible experience from start to finish. Dr. O’Neill and the staff were wonderful, and the EXCEL Program is excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

*Matt was a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program and had anterior approach hip replacement with Dr. Owen O’Neill

Read More

“I honestly cannot imagine going through the TKA experience any other way…” — Jennifer K.

I had been seeing Dr. O’Neill for several years for arthritis in my knee. I finally reached the point where it made sense to schedule my TKA surgery, and I was so pleased when Dr. O’Neill suggested the EXCEL Program. Knowing that infection is a serious risk with the surgery, and also knowing that the risk of contracting an infection in the hospital was even higher, I was ecstatic to find out that I could avoid hospitalization altogether. I was also thrilled to be given the opportunity to recuperate in a non-hospital setting that wasn’t a transitional care facility.

The entire experience was positive. The staff was amazing. My primary care nurse, Ashley Swenson, was fantastic. She was supportive and gave me all the information I needed in a way that was respectful and informational. Her care during my stay at the EXCEL suites couldn’t have been better, as well as the PT. I so much appreciated the comfortable environment that didn’t feel like a clinical setting. It was so helpful to have the physical therapy room right across the hall, and to be able to work with the PT during my stay in an environment that was so inviting. Ashley’s discharge instructions were thorough and easy to understand. She was even willing to talk with me and respond to emails following my surgery, which was so appreciated and helpful.

Marni Gorowsky, my EXCEL RN contact, was an absolute angel throughout my recuperation after I left the EXCEL facility. I cannot overly express how incredibly comforting, helpful and essential it was to be able to email Marni throughout my recovery. I had the added hassle and discomfort of coming down with severe bronchitis at the same time, and Marni’s coaching and advice helped me and my husband through some pretty dark hours. She allayed my fears and gave me fantastic direction on how to manage my pain, swelling, anemia and general recovery.

I honestly cannot imagine going through the TKA experience any other way. And, finally, the PT experience at the TCO PT office with Seth Engberg was equally positive. Seth personalized my PT so that I always felt my unique physical abilities were taken into account. I was adamant about increasing my strength and range of motion, and Seth worked with me to find the best exercises that fit my personal goals.

It has been six months since my surgery. While I have to say it was by far the physically most difficult and painful thing I have ever experienced, I couldn’t be happier with the outcome. I have my full range of motion back, far beyond what I had hoped. My knee is less swollen than it has been in many years. I am virtually pain-free and drug-free. I rarely, if at all, even take an ibuprofen, where it previously was part of my regular “diet” along with much stronger drugs.

I am golfing, biking, walking, and back to work at a much higher level of physical stamina than before. And I do believe that Dr O’Neill’s elegant work and the outstanding care model of the EXCEL Program are largely responsible. I’ve spoken to other TKA patients who did not have any where near the positive recovery experience that I have had.

Thank you Dr. O’Neill, TCO, Ashley, Marni, and Seth! Keep doing what you are doing.

Read More

“By the time I came into the office, I was sure that Dr. O’Neill was the right surgeon…” — Patricia C.

My right hip had been degenerating for several years. I had little pain for most of that time. My range of motion, though, was impacted, eventually contributing to a pronounced limp and a left lumbar disk herniation. I spent part of a year in a wheelchair, and then a walker and cane. I researched my surgery as I addressed the herniation with Dr. David Holte at Twin Cities Orthopedics.

Dr. O’Neill’s name came up prominently in my internet searches and referrals for anterior hip replacement surgery. Dr. Holte also recommended him. By the time I came into the office, I was sure that Dr. O’Neill was the right surgeon. To my pleasant surprise though, the benefits were even greater. The EXCEL Program addressed so many of my needs and concerns.

I am now seven months beyond surgery. I returned to work after two months. I continued home and clinical rehabilitation which has allowed me to exercise again – moderate walks, light weights, stretching, and the treadmill. Many people have commented on my recovery after seeing me so disabled for a year.
Thank you, Dr. O’Neill and EXCEL Program for an excellent process and outcome.

*Patricia had a hip replacement with Dr. Owen O’Neill as a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program

Read More

“The hip replacement surgery went better than I could have ever expected…” — Sidney J.

The hip replacement surgery went better than I could have ever expected, just like Dr. O’Neill said it would. Very impressed with every single staff member and the EXCEL Program. It was great. I have referred a friend who took another friend with her. That is how much I believe in your program.

*Sidney had a hip replacement with Dr. Owen O’Neill as a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program

Read More

“TCO and Dr. O’Neill provided an exceptional patient experience for me…” — Brian K

After five years of degenerative hip issues, I had my right hip replaced by Dr. O’Neill through TCO’s EXCEL Program. Three days after surgery I was walking without discomfort or use of a walker. Two weeks post surgery I was back on my bike riding without pain or restrictions. I am looking forward to having my left hip replaced by Dr. O’Neill within the next 12-24 months. TCO and Dr. O’Neill provided an exceptional patient experience for me.

*Brian had a hip replacement with Dr. Owen O’Neill as a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program

Read More

“Overall I had an excellent experience with Dr. Teynor…” — Mark V.

Overall I had an excellent experience with Dr. Teynor and the EXCEL Program. I was in the EXCEL Program for my second knee replacement. There were two things I most appreciated. First, the post surgery care was very personalized and the setting was much better for recovery compared to a hospital. Second, the single bill that covered the entire procedure was much appreciated. I highly recommend this program for those who qualify.
*Mark had a knee replacement with Dr. Joseph Teynor as a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program

Read More

“I applaud all of your great nurses and physical therapists…” — Mary S.

Everyone was so nice and there when I needed them. They answered all my questions with a smile. Thanks it made the day go so much easier.

Read More

“Everything went great!” — Joann S.

Everything went great! The surgery went fast and all the nurses were good with me. They checked on me all the time to see if I needed anything. I spent the night in rehab and went for a 2 a.m. walk with the nurse. The next day everyone came to see me about my hip and gave me tips about what to do and what not to do. I went home that day and was already healing well. The nurses are great and always help if you need it. You all keep up the good work and thank you for everything!
*Joann had a hip replacement with Dr. Jonathan Asp as a participant in TCO’s EXCEL Program

Read More

“I haven’t felt this good in years…” — Janelle K.

I haven’t felt this good in years and finally have my life back. According to my family, friends, and neighbors, my recovery was incredible and amazing. The neighbors saw me walking to the corner when I got the home the day after surgery and around the block the third day after surgery. By the fourth day post-surgery I was shopping with a friend. I used a walker until I came home from that shopping trip, then decided I didn’t need it and went to a cane for a few days. My surgery was June 15; by the middle of July I marched in the Aquatennial Parade and went hiking in the Grand Canyon the beginning of August. I haven’t felt one twinge of pain since I went in for surgery and had stopped all pain medicine after four days.

A woman from church encouraged me to see Dr. Brian O’Neill at Twin Cities Orthopedics, where she works. She told me about the great results his patients had and that most came to their two week checkup walking normally. I had the anterior approach total hip replacement surgery. I was very pleased with the information I was given to prepare myself for surgery. The class was helpful also, not only for me but for my husband to know what to expect after surgery. I found that the anterior approach had much fewer restrictions during recovery. I cannot say enough about the level of care I received, as well as the friendliness of everyone. I won’t hesitate to have the same surgery on my other hip.

Read More

“I could not have been happier with TCO!” — Kris L.

I could not have been happier with TCO – from start to finish it has been a very positive experience. All were so good to always communicate so I knew what to expect in time leading up to surgery, through surgery and throughout the recovery process. Very happy with Dr. Mair, Michelle, and Justine- they all took the time to answer all of my questions and let me know exactly what to expect. I also loved having surgery at the 212 building. It was a perfect fit for me! The room was great, nurses were so nice, great food, room was nice and quiet.

One thing I really appreciate is that Dr. Mair is very conservative. He did not recommend surgery until we had looked at all my options. I was so thankful that he was my doctor throughout the time leading up to surgery, during surgery, and therapy. I had total confidence in Dr. Mair and his team. They have been wonderful!

Read More

“Many Adventures Await for Victoria and Her New Knee!” — Victoria V.

After more than five years of supportive, conservative knee pain management, my strength and stability had collapsed. It became apparent by continued pain, an x-ray and MRI, that it was my time for a total knee replacement. Dr. Heikes had been helping me manage my pain for years and helped as I moved into needing a new knee. Having the EXCEL program as an option with TCO made my decision to do it now, that much easier.

Focused, multidisciplinary post-operative care in a non-hospital environment was optimal for me and my family. With my insurances’ approval, I took part in the TCO EXCEL Program having a left total knee replacement in June of 2015. I received top notch care and was walking down the hall that afternoon after an intense physical and occupational therapy session. With my own training at home, I am not looking back! Many adventures await!

Read More

“I will continue to refer patients to Dr. Owen O’Neill and the Excel Program.” — Bob K.

My experience with Twin Cities Orthopedics and the EXCEL Program was great from start to finish. We only had one hiccup during my time at TCO. There was a thunderstorm on the day of my surgery and the air conditioning went out at the surgery center. Dr. Owen O’Neill explained the safety issues and the team handled the situation very professionally. Due to the safety matters, we decided to move my surgery to the next day. This demonstrated how important it is to focus on the safety of the patient and showed how efficiently a situation can be managed. It was out of the control of the surgical team, yet managed very well.

The entire team from office visits, to surgery, to overnight recovery, to post-surgical visits was very professional and enjoyable.

I know Dr. Owen O’Neill has seen three new patients at my referral since my surgery in May. I will continue to refer patients to Dr. Owen O’Neill and the EXCEL Program.  Thank you!

Read More

“Dr. O’Neill and the entire staff at Twin Cities Orthopedics were great!” — Elliot L.

From start to finish, Dr. O’Neill and the entire staff at Twin Cities Orthopedics were great. He totally explained everything to me before, during and after my hip replacement. From bone to bone and now, no hip pain!

I am deeply appreciative for his knowledge and know how, and for the excellent care I received. I would recommend Dr. Owen O’Neill and TCO to anyone.

Read More

“Today I am pain free and can walk for miles!” — Nancy S.

I lived with chronic hip pain for 5 years or more, dreading the thought of surgery. Thinking that there would be at best trade-offs and the down side to surgery I must say that my experience with TCO was excellence all the way. My pain was under control, my surgeon was the best, the care providers at my overnight recovery were great. My recovery was right on schedule, within 6 weeks I was walking with no cane. Best of all I did not have to take Celebrex or pain meds or sleeping pills. Today I am pain free and can walk for miles! Getting my hips replaced was the best thing I could have done for myself and TCO came through with their words with flying colors.

Read More

“Everyone I dealt with was kind, respectful, and understanding. A real class act!” — Teri B.

From the beginning I knew I was in good hands with Dr. Teynor and the EXCEL surgery and recovery team. Dr. Teynor gave me confidence by even including me in the EXCEL program.

I was prepared in Justina’s class for anything that I might encounter, and throughout the process, she and her “manual” provided me with every answer. Dr. Teynor’s surgery was stellar, very successful (even on the very work state of my knee plagued by a 40+ year old injury).

The staff at York Gardens held me up through the difficult days following surgery, with timely and very professional care, service, and advice. The Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy staff challenged me appropriately and Justina gave me calm and hope.

My experience with TCO Physical Therapy was outstanding. My needs were read clearly by Angie and Jen – they kept me accountable, even when I didn’t feel “accelerated”, with patience, humor, and direct communication. I was vulnerable and they knew how to encourage and promote my growth through my resistance. Dr. Troy was ever encouraging and gave clear analysis and helpful advice during my aftercare appointments. Because of this phenomenal staff, I knew what was expected and I was inspired to keep striving, even though some of the recovery was difficult.

I am grateful to Dr. Teynor, Dr. Troy, Justina, Angie, Jen, the nurses on staff at York Gardens, the Physical Therapy on staff at York – to everyone. EXCEL is an incredible program and I would highly recommend it to anyone, without reservation. Thank you for believing in me, helping me heal and recover and bringing me to this wonderful state of stability.

Read More

“Completely and totally pain and discomfort free!” — Kristin C.

My only regret is that I didn’t do the surgery sooner! I put it off for too long, thinking I needed to wait until I was older (I am 46). I had no idea how much pain and discomfort I was in until I awoke from surgery. Completely and totally pain free, discomfort free!

Dr. Mair and his staff are amazing! I loved everything about my recovery suite (wish I could have stayed longer) and my nursing staff was wonderful. It was a wonderful experience, it really was!

Read More

“An overall great experience with Dr. Teynor.” — Gary P.

I found all aspects of my hip replacement, treatment and care to be a great experience. Accommodations, food, and above all, the people who worked on and with me were terrific.

Read More

“Everyone I dealt with was kind, respectful, and understanding. A real class act!” — Angela D.

When deciding the best course of action for my knee replacement surgery, I chose the Twin Cities Orthopedics EXCEL Program for several reasons.

It was very important to me that I minimize the risk of complications from such an invasive surgery. Dr. Anseth explained to me that there was a lower percentage of risk of infection by having my surgery at the Twin Cities Orthopedics Surgery Center rather than at a traditional hospital. In addition, I would not need to spend the first day or two in the hospital prior to going to an extended care facility. The EXCEL Program allowed me to be transported directly from the surgery center to the extended care facility. This enabled me to begin physical therapy literally immediately and shortened my overall length of stay.

While in the extend care facility, I received excellent care! I was monitored twenty-four hours a day. My pain level was monitored closely, taken seriously, and addressed immediately. Everyone I dealt with was kind, respectful, and understanding. A real class act!

To my husband and I, the best part came after I returned home. Everything (and I mean EVERYTHING), was included into one bill! This saved us so much time consuming paperwork and frustration. This was extremely convenient.

I would definitely recommend the EXCEL program!

Read More

“I had an excellent experience with the EXCEL Program” — Peggy D.

My experience with TCO was a very positive experience. I first went there in January of 2014 when I fell at work and tore my rotator cuff. Dr. Kelly was my physician. I had surgery in February to repair the tear. I shared with Dr. Kelly that I had planned to get my knee replacement in the spring and was disappointed that it wouldn’t happen. His reply was, “oh we can do that.” He told me he also did knees and depending on my recovery from shoulder surgery, it could probably be done in May.

Well, I had a great recovery and while still getting Physical Therapy, discussed having the knee replacement done.

The staff was very excited to tell me that I would qualify to go through the EXCEL program. Not having to be in the hospital was very appealing and having a class about the procedure was very helpful. York Gardens, where you go for recovery, was a beautiful and very comfortable facility!

The surgery went well, and it was very comforting to have Dr. Kelly and Lindsay in the operating room. Going to the room at York Gardens was so nice and the staff there was very helpful and pleasant.

The Physical Therapist was patient but yet encouraged me to do what I needed to do. The food was very tasty. I felt I was in an apartment and not in a hospital room.

I would, and have, recommended the EXCEL program to persons who need a knee replacement. I appreciate all the help I got from all of the staff. From the appointment desk to the Physical Therapists, and everything in between, I am very happy with the experience and outcome!

Read More

“I send a heartfelt thank you to all of those involved in the EXCEL Program” — Elizabeth L.

The surgical team was phenomenal and everyone left me feeling confident and well cared for. I especially appreciated that my best friend was able to be with me up until it was time to roll into the operating room. It was such a big help in reducing that intensely anxious pre-operating feeling!

After surgery I was able to recover at the EXCEL center instead of the hospital. I absolutely recommend that to anyone who is able to qualify. I couldn’t get over the superb care and quiet, peaceful environment. Thank you Justina and company! You are all fantastic!

And it meant a lot to me that Dr. O’Neill came to see me that eve (surgery day) and walked with me a bit. It is such a great feeling that my doctor is as excited about these results as his patients are. And yes, I was up walking with my walker in just hours after my surgery. I went from walker to a cane within a few days, and within a week and a half, I no longer needed the cane. By one month post-op I was walking 3-4 miles each day and back to work. Throughout the rest of the summer and fall I averaged 35-40 miles a week walking with no pain.

Not exaggerating even a little, Dr. O’Neill and his great staff have given me back the ability to enjoy my family, friends and work. There is no way to express what it means to me to be able to move, sleep and have more energy for anything I want to do without constant exhausting pain. And such a gift to have my life back so swiftly with no need for extensive physical therapy, no extensive scarring from muscles being cut and so much less pain than I imagine a traditional approach would have generated.

Heartfelt thanks to all of you! You are the best!

Read More

“Dr. Kelly and his staff did a terrific job.” — Stephen L.

I want thank you, and let you know how much I appreciate all that you have done for me. I know it’s going to take me a while to get back to normal, but before you know it, I’ll be on that motorcycle in no time. You and your staff have been terrific.

Kaici has been wonderful. She was always quick to respond to every message and request that my wife, Debbie and I have made. Debbie needed a form filed out by the doctor for FMLA leave at work. Kaici e-mailed the completed form within a couple of hours, in spite of her busy schedule. Thank you, Kaici.

Justina was a huge help in getting all our questions answered about physical therapy and my care at York Gardens. It was nice of her to visit me during my stay and introduce herself. She even stuck around on my last day, until Debbie got there so she could meet her also. Debbie said this busy woman needs and assistant to help her with all her messages. Thank you, Justina.

The nurses at York Gardens, Andrea, Margaret, Stacy, Michelle and Laura (PT) were all wonderful. Andrea reminded me so much of my daughter-in-law who is a registered nurse in California. They all took such good care of me. They are also very good listeners. Thanks to all of you.

And finally, Maggie for the physical therapy you’ve helped me with so far, and all future sessions that will help me get back to normal.

Read More

“All the way to Minneapolis for a THR . . . a Canadian’s story.” — James M.

It’s funny how life works; how small the world seems to be, and how sometimes things just happen to go just right.

This is where my story begins. After several months of enduring hip pain, it became apparent that it was time for a total hip replacement (THR). One of the keys for me, and what I think was important at my age (72), was the length of recovery after the surgery. I am an avid golfer both in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and in Marco Island, Florida; an outdoor cottage guy during the Canadian summers; and a guy that you could say just can’t sit still for five minutes.

I was introduced to Dr. Owen O’Neill and Twin Cities Orthopedics from a close friend here in Toronto. After a short conversation with Dr. O’Neill and a brief discussion over an X-ray I had sent him, I knew this was the perfect fit for me. The THR being performed at EXCEL would have me back to my life of mobility in a third of the time of other THR procedures up here in Toronto.

From the moment I arrived in Minneapolis, it was evident that the EXCEL team provides patients with coordinated care as advertised. I experienced outstanding care from all administration, all the dedicated nurses, and especially from Dr. Owen O’Neill himself. All questions about the surgery – and more importantly for me, about my recovery – were answered.

After the surgery, the first thing I uttered to my son and daughter was, “What time is my tee time?” I just felt great – recovering for a few days in the private orthopedic suite getting nothing but the best care from all the excellent nurses on staff. I can’t thank them enough for making me feel so comfortable after the surgery.

After a few more days recovering in a hotel suite provided by EXCEL and another examination/X-ray with Dr. O’Neill, I was on my way back home to Toronto. I had my surgery on a Monday morning and I was on a plane back to Toronto on Friday afternoon, and that is all due to the expertise of Dr. O’Neill and his team.

Now, a few weeks after the surgery, family and friends can’t believe how quickly I’m recovering after having had a total hip replacement. Needless to say, I’m looking forward to my follow-up X-ray in about three weeks and a discussion via phone with Dr. O’Neill to discuss when I can make it back to the first tee to shave a few strokes off the scorecard.

Read More

“I appreciated the individual attention I received with the EXCEL Program.” — Deborah E.

Unbelievable experience. Exceptional care from Christa and Sherri during my recovery at York gardens. Justina has been available at all times and has been following up with me offering answers to any questions, monitoring my progress, checking my status, and helping with prescriptions.

Physical therapy is also great. I cannot say enough about the wonderful service and attention I have had.

Read More

Interested in EXCEL?

Contact a TCO Surgeon

Phone numbers can be found by clicking on the name of the surgeon.
Or contact EXCELProgram@TCOmn.com for additional information.